Museums Aotearoa

Museums Aotearoa, Te Tari o Ngā Whare Taonga o Te Motu, is the independent professional association for New Zealand’s museums and galleries and those who work for them.

We support the museums of Aotearoa to be thriving and sustainable. Kia tino toitū, tōnu i ngā whare taonga o Aotearoa.

We do this by:

  • advocating on behalf of members and the sector,
  • nurturing excellence in professional practice,
  • and extending manaakitanga toward our members.

Everything we do is underpinned by a commitment to the principles of Te Tiriti o Waitangi.

Museums Aotearoa values:

  • people who work in the museums and galleries sector in New Zealand
  • partnerships established by Te Tiriti o Waitangi
  • engagement with communities in the care and management, research, and interpretation of their treasures and taonga
  • shared ideas and resources in collaborative projects inside the sector and with other partners
  • development of expertise, research, mātauranga Māori and scholarship
  • exchange of knowledge enabling New Zealand museums and galleries to set a benchmark for exemplary professional museum practices and ethical principles
  • Museums Aotearoa members and staff respect the MA Code of Ethics & Professional Practice (2013)

Museums Aotearoa is a registered charity, No: CC32927
Annual Reports
Governance Documents


Executive Director - Phillipa Tocker
Administration Manager - Rachel Nankivell
Communication & Events Manager - Mo Farrell


Board Members

Courtney Johnston


Director of Audience & Insights, Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa 

Matariki Williams

Curator Mātauranga Māori, Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa

Dale Bailey

Director Collections, Research and Learning, Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa

Greg McManus

Chief Executive, Waitangi National Trust

Henriata Nicholas

Exhibitions Coordinator, Te Awamutu Museum

Riah King-Wall

Emerging Museum Professionals appointee
Arts Advisor, Whanganui District Council

Olivia Taouma

Pacific Advisory member
Teu La Vā Manager, Auckland War Memorial Museum

Liz Cotton

Head of Human History, Auckland Museum

Next Museums Aotearoa Board meeting: 30 April 2019, Wellington