Annual General Meeting 2024 Museums Aotearoa

Event date
11 June 2024 - 11 June 2024

Notice of 2024 Annual General Meeting and Board Election

The twenty-sixth Annual General Meeting of Museums Aotearoa Te Tari o ngā Whare Taonga o Te Motu, The Museums of New Zealand Inc will be held at:

Museums Aotearoa

169 Tory Street, Wellington

9.30-11am, Wednesday 12 June 2024

Note that this meeting will be online only. Voting will be held during the meeting via show of hands or by proxy, which is allowed for via the amendment made to the constitution in 2023.

RSVP by 5.00pm 29 May 2024


Opening karakia

  • Apologies
  • Minutes: 2023 Annual General Meeting
  • Matters Arising
  • Chair update
  • Annual Report and audited accounts
  • Election of Board Members
  • Appointment of Auditors: Moore Markhams to be reappointed.
  • Vote: To adopt new Museums Aotearoa constitution, as per legislative requirements and prior consultation
  • CE update
  • General Business

Closing karakia

Please forward any items for the Agenda to Museums Aotearoa by 29 May 2024 via

MA Board Elections 2024

Three Board positions will become available at this AGM due to the expiry of their three-year terms. The three members are nominated to stand for another term, as per Museums Aotearoa’s rules.

A vote will be held at the AGM if further nominations of Board Members are received. Nominations must be made in writing on the relevant Board Nomination Form and received by 5.00pm 29 May 2024 by email to

Please note this information will be available for other members to view on our website (behind member login).

Institutional Nominations

Please nominate yourself on behalf of your institution by providing a brief biography and complete the Nomination Form. Your director will need to approve the nomination.

Individual Nominations

If you are nominating yourself to represent individual members, please provide a brief biography, complete the Nomination Form and have your nomination endorsed by Kāhui Kaitiaki, if relevant.

Current Board members with three-year terms indicated from/to the AGM in that year. Board members seeking re-election are underlined below:

Current Elected Board members:

Eloise Wallace, Institutional Member First Term 2021 – 2024

Lucinda Jimson, Individual Member First Term 2021 – 2024

Susanna Shadbolt, Individual Member First Term 2021 – 2024

David Reeves, Institutional Member First Term 2022 – 2025

Janneen Love, Individual Member First Term 2023 – 2026

Jadene Hunia Te Wha Huff, Institutional Member First Term 2023 – 2026

Carolyn Roberts-Thompson, Institutional Member First Term 2023 – 2026

MA Proposed Constitution Changes

With the change in legislation over Incorporated Societies, MA must change its constitution – many of you will be in similar situations. We are taking the opportunity to update all our rules to make them fit for the future.

A change in rules can only happen after a 2/3 vote in agreement at an AGM. We are proposing to bring these rules to our AGM 12 June this year and ask our (voting) members to accept them. But first we want you to have the opportunity to review them and provide us with feedback.

The proposed new constitution is available here, as is our existing constitution here.

You can provide written feedback to Museums Aotearoa at

The MA Board will also hold an online meeting on 12pm Wednesday 29 May for you to ask questions and/or provide feedback directly. Register here to attend. (Members only).

Read more about proposed constitutional changes here.