Museums Aotearoa is the membership organisation for museums and galleries that care for and exhibit art and artifacts for the benefit of communities and our wider society.

We support the people who work in those institutions, caring for their unique collections and sharing and interpreting them with audiences.

Our vision is to see museums and galleries valued, championed and loved by the people of Aotearoa New Zealand.


Museums Aotearoa’s advocacy programme ensures the value the sector delivers is understood by central and local government and the communities we contribute to. Members can participate in and see our advocacy work through our member-only platform Mīharo.

In Partnership with Te Tiriti

MA has a vital role and responsibility to guide and support our members in their respective journeys to becoming true partners with Tangata Whenua under the principles of Te Tiriti o Waitangi. Many cultural institutions in Aotearoa New Zealand care for taonga on the behalf of iwi and are actively engaged in repatriation of taonga or kōiwi.

Our strategy

We have four key goals to achieve our vision of ‘A thriving sector that is valued, championed and loved by the people of Aotearoa New Zealand’.

These goals are:

  • Being the trusted voice of the sector
  • Being the place where people connect
  • Increasing the knowledge held by our people
  • Being a financially sustainable organisation

View our 2023-2026 strategy here



Our people

The Museums Aotearoa board are elected members responsible for governing the organisation. We have a co-governance model, and currently have seven board members.

Eloise Wallace

Co-chair, Institutional representative

Carolyn Roberts-Thompson

Ngapuhi, Te Aitanga a Hauiti, Nō ngā iwi o Muriwhenua

Co-chair, Institutional representative

Lucinda Blackley-Jimson

Board member, Individual representative

Susanna Shadbolt

Board member, Individual representative

David Reeves

Board member, Institutional representative

Jadene Huff

Ngāti Ruakawa Ki Te Tonga, Ngāti Kapu, Ngāti Ti Toa, Ngāti Tahu

Board member, Institutional representative

Janneen Love

Ngāti Pahauwera, Ngāti Kahungunu, Ngāi Tūpoto, Te Rarawa

Board member, Individual representative

Adele Fitzpatrick

Chief Executive

Fiona Pohlen

Marketing & Membership Specialist